

Board of Delegates Meeting Minutes February 21, 2024

Jurisdictions with Delegate/Alternate Present	Delegate/Alternate Present
Town of Marshville	Paulette Blakeney
Indian Trial	Crystal Buchaluk
Stanly County	Patty Crump
Harrisburg	Wayne Deatherage
Kannapolis	Darrell Hinnant
Village of Marvin	Wayne Deatherage
City of Bessemer City	Brent Guffey
Town of Wingate	Jamie Hamill
Town of Troutman	Felina Harris
Town of Norwood	Wes Hartsell
Union County	Brian Helms
Town of Cornelius	Susan Johnson
City of Concord	Andy Langford
Love Valley	Mark Loden
Town of Mint Hill	Tony Long
Town of Granite Quarry	Gary Shelton (A)
City of Bessemer City	Brent Duffey
Town of Matthews	Ken McCool
Town of McAdenville	Jay McCosh
City of Charlotte	Donte' Anderson (A)
Town of Mineral Springs	Jim Muller
Mecklenburg County	Elaine Powell
Town of East Spencer	Shawn Rush
Town of Stallings	David Scholl
City of Mount Holly	Lauren Shoemaker
Cabarrus County	Lynn Shue
City of Lowell	Shane Robinson (A)
Town of Spencer	Pat Sledge
City of Gastonia	Jennifer Stepp
Town of Harrisburg	Jennifer Teague
Anson County	Jarvis Woodburn
Town of Waxhaw	Richard Daunt (A)

Call to Order

Chairman Jay McCosh, Town of McAdenville, called the meeting to order.

Roll Call

Narissa Claiborne, Board Administrator noted that a quorum was not present.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Compton called for a moment of silence.

Amendments to the Agenda

There were no amendments to the agenda.

Consent Agenda

- 1. Approval of the May 10, 2023, and August 9, 2023 Board of Delegates Meeting minutes
- 2. Resolution of Membership Town of China Grove

Regular Agenda

3. Centralina Introduction and Welcome

Geraldine Garnder, Centralina Executive Director presented a brief introduction to the Centralina and highlights from our Mid-Year Progress Report.

4. Nominating Committee Report and Officers Elections

Nominating Committee members, Shawn Rush and Crystal Buchaluk presented the slate of nominees for Centralina's 2024 officers. The Committee shared their process with the Board and how they decided on the current slate of candidates. Chairman McCosh called for a motion to approve the 2024 Centralina Officers as such.

Chairman: Councilmember Jay McCosh - McAdenville, (Gaston County)

Vice Chairman: Mayor Pro Tem David Scholl- Town of Stallings (Union County)

Treasurer: Commissioner Jarvis Woodburn-Anson County

Secretary: Commissioner Tony Long- Town of Mint Hill (Mecklenburg County)

Mayor Darrell Hinnant made the motion, and Alderman of East Spencer, Shawn Rush seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Installation of Officers

Narissa Claiborne, Centralina Board Administrator installed the 2024 Centralina officers including Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer.

6. <u>Public Hearing and Approval of the Proposed Centralina Budget Ordinances for</u> Fiscal Year 2024-2025

Denise Strosser, Centralina Financial Director shared with the Board the placeholder annual operating and pass-through budget proposals for Fiscal Year 2025 which the Executive Board voted to recommend at the January 11, 2024, Board of Delegates meeting. Chairman McCosh called for a motion to approve the FY2024-25 operating and passthrough placeholder budget ordinances of \$9,025,500 and \$17,308,900, respectfully, and the membership dues assessment of \$0.24 per capita with no minimal assessment per member.

Councilmember Stepp of the City of Gastonia made the motion. Mayor Pro Tem Scholl of the Town of Stallings seconded the motion. The motion passed.

7. Executive Board Overview and Municipal Caucuses

Geraldine Gardner, Centralina's Executive Director began this item by sharing with the Board a summary and key responsibilities of a Centralina Delegate including the Executive board overview. Ms. Gardner also shared with the Centralina Delegates the caucusing procedure. Delegates then broke off into Counties where they deliberated on who would serve on the Executive Board as the Centralina Delegate. After deliberations, Jay McCosh shared with the Board the results of the caucuses.

8. Centralina Round Robin & Hop Topics Discussion

The Centralina Delegates participated in a round-robin style discussion where they were able to hear from each of the Centralina Directors, including Area Agency on Aging, Linda Miller, GAME Director and Deputy Executive Director, Michelle Nance, Planning Director, Jason Wager, Economic Development's Christina Danis, and lastly Workforce Development's David Hollars. Each Director shared their current initiatives and allowed each Delegate to ask questions and voice their concerns for their communities. After the round-robin discussions, the Delegates convened back in the Carolinian for caucus results and closing comments.

Comments from the Executive Director

- Thanked the Board of Delegates for their service.
- March 14 -Small Town Thrive
- March 27-State of the Regional Economy
- April 25- Centralina Learns: Aging Sensitivity & Age-Friendly Communities
- May 8- Board of Delegates meeting

•

Comments from the Chairman

Thanks to the Centralina Executive Board and the regional collaboration that is to come.

Adjournment

With no further business to be discussed, Chairman Compton adjourned the meeting at 7:05p.m.