

# Board of Delegates Meeting Minutes February 8, 2023

Jurisdictions with Delegate/Alternate Present	Delegate/Alternate Present	Jurisdictions without a Delegate/Alternate Present
Albemarle	Martha Sue Hall	Anson County
Cabarrus County	Lynn Shue	Ansonville
Concord	Andy Langford	Badin
East Spenser	Shawn Rush	Belmont
Faith	Jayne Lingle	Bessemer City
Gastonia	Jennifer Stepp	Charlotte
Gaston County	Bob Hovis	Cherryville
Harrisburg	Jennifer Teague	Cleveland
Iredell County	Gene Houpe	Cornelius
Love Valley	Mark Loden	Cramerton
Kannapolis	Darrell Hinnant	Dallas
Marvin	Wayne Deatherage	Davison
McAdenville	Jay McCosh	Granite Quarry
Mecklenburg County	Elaine Powell	Huntersville
Mineral Springs	Jim Muller	Indian Trail
Mint Hill	Tony Long	Kings Mountain
Mooresville	Bobby Compton	Landis
Morven	Corinthia Lewis-Lemon	Lilesville
Norwood	Wes Hartsell	Lincolnton
Ranlo	Robin Conner	Lincoln County
Salisbury	Karen Alexander	Locust
Spencer	Patricia Sledge	Lowell
Stallings	David Scholl	Marshville
Stanly County	Patty Crump	Midland
Statesville	Joe Hudson	Misenheimer
Troutman	Jerry Oxsher	Monroe
Union County	Brian Helms	Mount Holly
		Oakboro
		Pineville
		Waxhaw
		Wingate

## Call to Order

Chairman Bobby Compton, Town of Mooresville, called the meeting to order.

#### Roll Call

Narissa Claiborne Board Administrator noted that a quorum was present.

#### Moment of Silence

Chairman Compton called for a moment of silence.

#### Amendments to the Agenda

There were no amendments to the agenda.

#### Consent Agenda

1. Approval of the October 12, 2022, Board of Delegates Meeting minutes

2. Resolution for Membership- Town of Love Valley

Chairman Compton referred to the Delegates, asking if there were any comments or objections to the Consent items. Hearing none he called for a motion.

Mayor Pro Tem, Martha Sue Hall, Albemarle made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda. Commissioner Bob Hovis, Gaston County seconded the motion, and it was carried unanimously.

#### 3. Centralina Overview, Priorities, and Orientation

Geraldine Gardner, Centralina Executive Director the Executive Director presented an overview of Centralina and highlights from FY2023. Delegates then participated in an interactive exercise to learn more about Centralina's work and the roles and responsibilities of a Delegate. Michelle Nance, Planning Director, also highlighted the work and goals of the Connect Beyond Plan.

#### 4. <u>Public Hearing and Approval of Proposed Centralina Budget Ordinances for Fiscal</u> <u>Year 2023-2024</u>

Denise Strosser, Finance Director, noted that the Executive Board reviewed the proposed budget at its January meeting and voted to recommend its approval by the Board of Delegates. She explained that the proposal includes a placeholder operating budget ordinance of \$7,983,464 and a placeholder passthrough grant budget ordinance of \$19,852,101 respectively. She further explained that the proposal recommends keeping the membership dues assessment rate at \$0.24 per capita, adding that the rate has remained the same for ten-plus years.

Chairman Compton noted that a notice of the public hearing on the budget was published in the Charlotte Observer on January 29<sup>th</sup>. He opened the public hearing and invited comments from members of the public who were present.

Chairman Compton referred to the Delegates, asking if there were any comments or objections to the Public Hearing and Budget Ordinances, hearing none, he called for a motion.

Mayor Darrell Hinnant, Kannapolis, made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda. Mayor Pro Team Martha Sue Hall, Albemarle seconded the motion, and it was carried unanimously.

## 5. Nominating Committee Report and Election of the 2023 Officers

The Nominating Committee shared with the Board the results from their delegation. Mayor Pro Tem Hall gave a summary of the nominating committee process. She added that the committee was asked in November to self-nominate to either serve on the Board or to serve on the nominating committee. Mayor Pro Tem also shared that the committee expressed the need to the Board, moving forward, start the nomination process earlier in the year allowing more time for outreach. She reported that the committee held a conference call in early January and discussed the incumbent officers' interest in continuing to serve in their respective roles, as well as a process for soliciting nominations from other interested Delegates. She noted that on behalf of the Nominating Committee, an email then went out to new and returning Delegates explaining the nomination process and calling for additional nominations. She added that the Nominating Committee received interest from 6 interested delegates. She presented the following slate of nominees:

Chairman: Commissioner Bobby Compton, Town of Mooresville Vice Chairman: Mayor Pro Tem Jay McCosh, Town of McAdenville Secretary: Commissioner Jarvis Woodburn, Anson County Treasurer: Council member Corinthia Lewis-Lemon, Town of Lilesville

## 6. Installation of Officers

Mrs. Claiborne, Board's Administrator administered the oath of office to the officers.

## 7. County Caucusing and Networking

Ms. Gardner presented an overview of the role of the Executive Board, noting that Board Members serve as decision-makers, collaborators, networkers, and advocates. She presented a forecast of the Executive Board meeting scheduled for 2023.

Ms. Gardner explained that the Delegates will be placed into breakout rooms with others from their county. She noted that in the breakouts, the Delegates from the municipalities in, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, and Union Counties will caucus to select their municipal representative to the Executive Board. She further noted that the Delegates from Anson, Gaston, Iredell, and Lincoln Counties will use their breakouts to network with each other and Centralina staff.

The Delegates were then divided into breakout groups for County Caucuses and small group discussions.

Chairman Compton reported the results of the caucuses:

Anson County Municipalities: Council Member Corinthia Lewis-Lemon, Town of Morven Cabarrus County Municipalities: Mayor Darrell Hinnant, City of Kannapolis Mecklenburg County Municipalities: Council Member Amelia Stinson-Wesley, Town of Pineville

Rowan County Municipalities: Mayor Pro Tem Shawn Rush, East Spencer Stanly County Municipalities: Mayor Pro Tem Martha Sue Hall, City of Albemarle Union County Municipalities: Commissioner Brian Helms, Union County

## **Comments from the Board of Delegates and Centralina Staff**

## **Comments from the Executive Director**

Ms. Gardner summarized the points covered and emphasized the importance of the Board of Delegate and their role. Ms. Gardner thanked delegates for their participation and service to the Board.

## Comments from the Chairman

Chairman Compton closed the meeting by stating that he is proud of the work Centralina Regional Council continues to do and thanked the Delegates for their service.

## Adjournment

With no further business to be discussed, Chairman Compton adjourned the meeting at 7:32 p.m.