The Centralina Council of Governments (CCOG) is a voluntary organization of municipal and county governments serving the Greater Charlotte region. Formed in 1968, CCOG is one of 16 regional councils in North Carolina established by the General Assembly to meet the region’s needs on a wide range of governance issues. CCOG serves a 9-county area including Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly and Union. CCOG assists local governments in coordinating for sound regional development and provides a forum to address issues best handled through regional cooperation, planning and action. CCOG provides a variety of services for our region including the administration of state and federal grants in the areas of aging, workforce development, economic development and planning. We also provide technical assistance services to local government members and other organizations in the areas of: regional planning, transportation, energy and environment, local government assistance and business resources.

Each community in the nine-county Centralina region is unique, but we share a common set of challenges. We believe that our region thrives when we work together, unified by a common vision for expanding opportunity and improving quality of life as laid out in our regional blueprints* for growth, economic development, workforce and aging service delivery. After 50 years of service to the region, CCOG is poised for its next chapter that focuses on action and impact at the individual, community and regional levels.

Our Mission

Centralina Council of Governments leads regional collaboration and sparks local action to expand opportunity and improve quality of life. We do this through creative problem solving, innovative service delivery and support to our local governments. Centralina’s six departments and associated organizations are dedicated to this mission of public service with a regional spirit.

Our Core Values

The Centralina team is wholeheartedly dedicated to serving our communities and making a meaningful difference in our region. To do this we LEAD in the way we ACT with each other and our customers:

Listen and speak with care
Embrace boldness and flexibility
Accelerate collaboration
Deliver expertise with respect

Act with integrity and empathy
Commit to our communities
Take care of ourselves and each other

About Regional Councils

Regional councils exist in some fashion across the country although naming conventions can differ. In some areas these organizations are known as Councils of Government (COGs), Planning Commissions or Planning Associations. In North Carolina, each regional council is also designated by a letter. The Centralina Council of Governments is also known as “Region F”. Click here for information on other regional planning organizations in North Carolina.

*Our regional blueprints are the CONNECT our Future Regional Growth Strategy (2015); Prosperity for Greater Charlotte Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (2018); Centralina Area Agency on Aging Area Plan (2015-2019); and the Centralina Workforce Development Board Annual Plan.